last five entries:

Poof, begone!
My (lack of) budget and Christmas presents!
Tumbleweeds
Holiday Ranting
I'm (With) Stupid

- +

Thank God It's Friday
2001-11-02 - 3:48 p.m.

I love Fridays.

Yeah, so that's not a huge thing, since most people do, but at my job, my love of Fridays is amplified a bit. You see, I work a 24x7 shift job, and for whatever reason, the weekend workers start early on Fridays, so they coincide with second shift. As a result, we go from having 5 people supporting 10-11 UNIX environments to having 9 or 10 people supporting the same number of boxes. This means that on most Fridays I have but one box to myself, and usually, as it is today, most of the processing is done during first shift.

So, today, I got in, ran a couple of outcollect jobs (these process cellular calls made on other company's phones in our markets) which took about 10 minutes each and I was effectively done for the day before 3 PM (I got in at 2). I might be able to run a couple of things before the end of the shift, but yep, that's about it.

What a life.


Okay, so what is the deal with Shrek? Television has been bombarded with commercials for its release on DVD today, and while at Best Buy I saw a big display for it. I saw it back in theaters when it first came out, and while I thought it was a pretty entertaining movie (as detailed here), it wasn't THAT big a deal.

I read somewhere recently where Shrek is the #1 film of the year or something. I don't get that. While funny, most of the humor is no better than your typical Disney animated movie. Y'know the type, humor that appeals at separate times to both kids and adults. I've never been against commercial successes in movies, but I just think there have been a lot better movies out this year than that. Oh well, I'm obviously not on the pulse of society since I still can't for the life of me figure out why so many people on Dland have made The Fight Club the #1 choice for movies. It was interesting, but favorite movie?

Alrighty then.


By the way, if anyone has $299 lying around, feel free to buy me an Xbox this month when they come out. Yep, Microsoft's "little gaming machine that could" is the latest electronic device that has me salivating. Yeah, I can afford it myself, but I've made a bunch of different purchases lately which kind of require me to hold off on the big time spending until at least next year. So unless I win the lottery before then, it looks like the Xbox waits until February or March. Sigh...


I was bored yesterday at work, so I went through my workslacker, hairbands, and this-is-me diaryrings and dropped anyone who didn't have the ring listed on either their main page (or a specific diaryring page) and/or they hadn't updated since at least October. Hey, it was something to do. Since thongsrule is a much bigger ring (130 or so at last count...told ya, John), I'll probably weed that out this weekend.

Like I said yesterday, I have pretty much the whole weekend free. I don't plan on doing much more than catching up on the scads of shows I have waiting on TiVo, cleaning up my room (it REALLY needs it), and finally start playing Europa Universalis, the empire building game I bought for my PC earlier this week. It's like Risk on steroids, so it'll take a while to get into.

On a related note, does anyone know of a really good place to play online games? Murmurs and I are trying to come up with ways to keep in touch without just talking on the phone or IM'ing, and playing online games seem like as good an idea as anything. I think she knows of some good locations, but as I've never done any gaming much online before, I figure suggestions can't hurt.

Guess that's about it for now. As I have lots and lots of free time before 10, don't be surprised if I return.

Until next time...

previous - next

Sign my guestbook!

name:


mail:


url:


comments: