last five entries:

Poof, begone!
My (lack of) budget and Christmas presents!
Tumbleweeds
Holiday Ranting
I'm (With) Stupid

- +

My Windfall and Boy Clarification
2001-06-13 - 6:01 p.m.

Ah, I just made my day.

I haven't checked my bank account in right next to forever, but I started thinking about it today since I had to send out a $500 check for my credit card bill this morning. I knew I had enough money to cover it, but I still thought I was running vaguely low.

Well, worries no longer. I just logged on and in addition to having more than enough in my checking account, I realized I had completely forgotten that I put a bunch of money in my savings account a couple of months back...to the tune of over $1300. Woohoo!

So as of right now, I've got a little under 4 grand total in those two accounts. I'm pretty pleased with myself. Not to mention, I still have another paycheck coming the week before rent and all my other bills are paid. I guess moving into the house really is saving me money. What with the money I also have in my company's stock, maybe I'll think about buying a condo/townhouse after all come October. We'll see.

In regards to the last entry's boys/grrrls subject (by the way, I re-edited all the girls with 3 r's, okay Rachel?), I think I've pinned down what bothers me about the term 'boy'. When you talk about boys and girls, in a child sense, you usually think "Awww, what cute boys and girls." If you don't say 'cute', then it's probably some other 'aww shucks' adjective.

Your typical man likes to think of himself as being strong, able-bodied, and powerful (relatively speaking). When we're called 'boys', that makes us think of that cute little kid, which is not the image we have of ourselves in our mind. I can't speak for what women think (if they care at all) when they are called 'girls', but that's my problem with 'boy.' Hopefully, that made some amount of sense.

The fact that a lot of guys cringe at being called 'cute' is probably related to this. Personally, I'm all for any compliment a woman wants to throw my way, but I understand where it sounds better to be 'handsome' or 'hot' than 'cute'. I don't know, but 'cute' just sounds very boy bandish (and no Justin Timberlake jokes from the peanut gallery).

Okay, time to get the hell out of here. It's my off day from the gym, so I have to decide whether I want to go see a movie or not. Unlike most people, I have absolutely no problem whatsoever with going to the theater by myself, if no one else is around. If I don't do that, then it's just TV or videogames for the rest of the night, and neither sounds appealing. Besides, I really need to see Memento while it's still out since I've heard such good things about it.

Talk at ya later.

previous - next

Sign my guestbook!

name:


mail:


url:


comments: