last five entries:

Poof, begone!
My (lack of) budget and Christmas presents!
Tumbleweeds
Holiday Ranting
I'm (With) Stupid

- +

Not Sleeping This Weekend
2001-12-21 - 8:14 p.m.

Well, there goes what semblance of a weekend I had. Oh, I tried to resist. I concentrated on other things, doing my best to ignore its powerful grasp, and for a while, it looked as if I would win out. But alas, in the end, I caved.

I just bought Final Fantasy X for the Playstation 2.

Now let's get something straight here. Between the haul from last Sunday's Christmas thing with my family, not to mention stuff I already have, there's literally hundreds of hours of playing time currently available on my PS2 or PC. FFX, with a good 60+ hours of gameplay will NOT be helping.

Speaking of games, I was up until a ridiculous hour this morning playing SSX Tricky (much bigger improvement over the original than I thought it would be) on the PS2 and then retiring to my bedroom for about an hour and a half of Baldur's Gate (the original).

I think I'm addicted, folks. Games are like crack for me nowadays. Though to be honest, I DO seem to go through phases where I play all the time, and then I'll go 2-3 months without touching the stuff. Besides, my gf is over a thousand miles away right now, so what's the point in going out anyway? Yep, gotta justify it somehow.


My night was drastically enhanced last night when I came in the door and saw my Moulin Rouge DVD had arrived. To say I was thrilled would be a vast understatement, as I figured what with Christmas and our wacky postal system that I wouldn't receive it until next week sometime. I immediately popped it in and started jumping all over with the scene selections, playing and replaying my favorite parts.

It's been 2 months since the cruise down to Mexico, where I first saw Moulin Rouge, and I gotta tell you, not only was it just as good seeing it for a second (or third or fourth) time, it actually might have even been better, thanks to anticipation. It was also interesting listening to the music, as I have pretty much got the CD on at least once a day.

After all those repeated viewings, it occurred to me that Moulin Rouge is far and away my favorite movie of the year. Go figure. Of course, I won't be able to say that definitively until I see Lord of the Rings, since that looks downright epic, but at the moment, I can't think of anything that would even come close, as far as the Oscars go. Though to be honest this hasn't exactly been a banner year for awards-calibre movies. I remember Memento was pretty popular earlier this year, but while I found it to be relatively interesting, it was more notable for a gimmicky way of presenting a story rather than a truly innovative story.

Anyway, I'm sure the Academy Awards will do all they can to present the Best Picture to some movie no one has heard of, but with any luck, at least one of the statues will find its way to the director, Nicole Kidman, or Ewan McGregor. As for the latter, I honestly believe McGregor is probably the best young actor out there right now. I still point to his guest starring role as a doomed convenience store robber on the show ER as one of the best things I've EVER seen on TV. Oddly enough, Natalie Portman, who I consider one of the best young actresses (plus, she's hot!) co-stars with him in the Star Wars films, not exactly known for their stunning acting sequences (action, yes...acting, no).

Oh well, I've rambled on long enough about Moulin Rouge I think. For what it's worth, though, if you do like the movie, the DVD has literally hours of extra stuff on it, so I couldn't recommend it more.

If I pull myself away from slaying fantastical creatures, shooting Nazis, or getting mad air while virtually snowboarding this weekend, I'll try and update some more. Though as bad as I've been at fulfilling those promises in the past, I wouldn't hold your breath.

For what it's worth, that's the very first time I've ever used the slang term "mad" in either print or speaking. It was a joke, so don't expect more of it. Who comes up with such stupid slang anyway?

Until next time...

previous - next

Sign my guestbook!

name:


mail:


url:


comments: