last five entries:

Poof, begone!
My (lack of) budget and Christmas presents!
Tumbleweeds
Holiday Ranting
I'm (With) Stupid

- +

I'm (With) Stupid
2001-12-24 - 4:45 p.m.

Well, I had my moronic dingbat moment of the day already, and it only took me about half an hour after I got out of bed (at the ripe ol' hour of 1:30). As I was getting ready for work, I happened to have Garbage playing on my CD (the band, not a reference to hip-hop). Since I was running late, I had to stop playing it in the middle of a good song. So I get in my car and I think to myself before I turn it on, "Wow, I really would like to hear more Garbage." I turn the key, the car starts, the radio turns on, and lo and behold, they are playing Garbage! I was amazed. The song playing was one I hadn't realized had been released as a single yet, but who was I to argue.

So I make record time to work (MAYBE 3 minutes) and pull in before the song ends. As I sit down in my cube, I've already forgotten about the whole music thing, but then about 20 minutes later I decide to run out and get something to eat real quick. I get in my car, and unbelievably, Garbage is playing AGAIN! For about a fifth of a second, I'm floored by this, and then it finally occurs to me...I'm listening to a tape.

It doesn't matter how old you get, common sense and wisdom aren't a given. You heard it here first.


It turns out I stayed quite true to my prediction that I would do a whole hell of a lot of nothing this weekend. In fact, I didn't even leave my house from Friday night, when I got in from work, until early Sunday evening, in order to get something to eat. In between those hours, this is all that I did:

1. Played Final Fantasy X from about 11 PM until about 5 or 6 in the morning.

2. Slept from 6 AM until 2:30 PM in the afternoon.

3. Played Final Fantasy X from 3:30 PM until about 4 in the morning, followed by 2 hours of SSX Tricky until 6 AM.

4. Started playing Baldur's Gate 1 on the PC from 6 AM to about 8 AM.

5. Slept from 8 AM until 4 PM.

6. Watched some football, from about 4 to 7 PM, but I also played more Baldur's Gate while watching.

7. Left house for Arby's (the big Montana sandwich, with potato cakes) from maybe 7:15 to 7:30 PM.

8. Came home, played Baldur's Gate 1 from 8 PM until, say, 5 AM.

9. Realized I should go to bed, got in bed, and then foolishly turned on Moulin Rouge, which I watched in its entirety for the first time (before I'd only seen 85-90% of it).

10. Finally feel asleep at about 8:30 this morning. Got up at 1:30, and the rest is history.

Wow, when you write it out like that, it seems like I accomplished quite a bit, doesn't it? Damn, I'm a slug sometimes.

Until next time...

previous - next

Sign my guestbook!

name:


mail:


url:


comments: