last five entries:

Poof, begone!
My (lack of) budget and Christmas presents!
Tumbleweeds
Holiday Ranting
I'm (With) Stupid

- +

New Shift?
2001-11-08 - 2:58 a.m.

There's a really cool online game on Yahoo Games called Word Racer. You have this grid made up of linked letters, and you have to make up words from connecting those letters. Once one person makes a word, it is unusable by anyone else. Depending on the length of your word (plus multiplier bonus letters), you get a certain number of points. It may not sound like much, but damn, it can be addicting. After 12 games, I'm leading my girl 8-4, but some of those have been very close games. It seems like I have a knack for coming back in the last of the 4 rounds.

Anyway, the reason I bring this up is that if anyone is interested in playing this, I'd be more than happy to find a new victim. Plus, you can play up to 8 players, and that sounds like a REALLY cool way to play the game. Freakin' organized chaos. Drop me a line via e-mail or my guestbook if anyone is interested. Keep in mind I'm not home from work until after 10:30 each night.


Speaking of work, a new option became available today that intrigues me. As I've explained before, I work the second shift (2-10) of a 24x7 job. Well, there happens to be a weekend shift which entails working 12 hours a day for 3 days (Friday, Saturday, and Sunday).

I never really thought about a shift like this before, but the idea of having 4 days off a week is quite enticing. Throw in the fact that I already maintain a pretty whacky sleep schedule, and this shouldn't mess me up too much.

My manager mentioned it to me today, and I told him I'd think about it, so I've got a couple of days to think about it. It sounds really cool, but I'm afraid of starting it up and then hating it. I believe it would be 6 AM to 6 PM, and I'm not sure how happy I'd be with that since I'm more likely to be awake from 6 PM to 6 AM. Oh well, we'll see.


I'm finally getting around to watching Sunday night's NBC movie Uprising, about a Jewish resistance in (I think) Poland during WWII. It's got quite a cast in it, except for the fact I hate Leelee Sobieski. Whatever the case, it seems like a decent movie except for the fact that you kind of have a hard time rooting for the Jews. Not because they are Jews or anything, but rather the fact that we know how that whole Holocaust thing worked out. So no matter how well their resistance works in the movie, you know things still turned out badly in reality. Kind of like pinning your hopes on a lost cause, I guess.


By the way, I love some of you guys. Great comments in the guestbook. Last entry's story has a couple of additional chapters, but unless the nimrod in question keeps it up, I'm just going to let it die. However, if she keeps it up, you'll know all about it very soon.

Until next time...

previous - next

Sign my guestbook!

name:


mail:


url:


comments: