last five entries:

Poof, begone!
My (lack of) budget and Christmas presents!
Tumbleweeds
Holiday Ranting
I'm (With) Stupid

- +

Television, This Weekend, and Ottawa
2001-11-01 - 4:03 p.m.

Another day, another web site dies. Sigh...

One of the websites I've followed for right next to forever is shutting its doors (metaphorically speaking) today. Mr Showbiz, which has been around since nearly the time I started surfing the Net, is wrapping it up. It's things like this that make me realize the transitory state of the Internet, not to mention it hammers home just how dead the whole Tech Revolution of a couple of years ago is.

Probably one of my favorite sites ever, Daily Radar, closed up about 8 months ago. It covered everything from videogames to TV to movies to just plain comedy. Since then, I've seen several other sites, of all genres, either disappear or scale down drastically. It's too bad, since there was some really good stuff out there.

Oh well, life goes on I guess. Let's just hope Dland finds a way to continue on, huh?


So I've started watching my first WB show. Yep, no longer can I make blanket statements making fun of WB viewers. No, I haven't jumped on the Dawson's Creek or Buffy bandwagon. Hmm, Buffy is on UPN now, though, so I guess that doesn't make any sense.

Anyway, thanks to the miracle of TiVo, I've begun watching Smallville, the new series that focuses on Superman as a teenager in, where else, Smallville. I've never been a huge Superman fan (being a Marvel fanboy when I was younger), but something about this adaption of the subject struck an interest in me. So far, I've watched the first 3 episodes, and I think it's fair to say I'm hooked.

If that wasn't nerdy enough, I've also started watching the new Star Trek series Enterprise. Let's get something straight...I'm not a Trekkie. To be honest, my only real interest in this is that Scott Bakula is on the show. I used to love Quantum Leap way back when, so I figured it was worth checking out. In addition, it's taking a much different view of the Star Trek universe than the previous series, so I'll probably stick with it for the time being. Once again, ya gotta love TiVo.


I'm really looking forward to this weekend. It's going to be my first weekend in nearly a month where I don't have a damn thing to do. And if you've learned nothing else in the months of reading my scribblings here, you've realized there's nothing Justin likes more than being a lazy pile of crap.

I'm probably going to put in an appearance at Cindy's at some point since she hasn't seen me since September or so, but other than that, it's going to be nothing but solid relaxation. If my cold finally peters out, I will also try and hit the gym. I haven't gone regularly for a LONG time now, and I definitely want to get back into a routine before I resemble the aforementioned pile of crap and my girlfriend dumps me for a dirty French-Canadian (or should that be French-Canadien, eh?).


Speaking of the chickadee, I'm actually heading up to the Great White North for the first week of December to see her. Yes, believe it or not, I'm actually going to get on a plane to see her. So much for making it through a calendar year without getting on a plane. For those of you who don't know, I was terrified of flying long before September 11th. At some point, I need to get over to the doctor's and get myself a nice strong Xanax or Valium prescription since I'm gonna need it.

However, once the flight is over, I'm sure the week in Ottawa is going to be fantastic (not counting the bone-chilling cold). I'm hoping to see a few polar bear races, and let's hope we're still in season for narwhale hunting. Gonna get me some scrimshaw!

Yeah, I have no idea what the hell I'm talking about.

Whatever the case, more on that trip as we get closer to it. Plus, I plan on writing about the evolution of our relationship, but that will have to come a little later. Maybe this weekend, we'll see.


I guess that's enough babbling for now. Things are picking up again here at work, so I need to get cracking on it.

Until next time...

previous - next

Sign my guestbook!

name:


mail:


url:


comments: